Time Keeps on Slippin’ Into the Future

Well, I am sitting in the living room of the house I grew up in listening to the lyrics of the Beatles drift through the rather poor quality speakers on my laptop computer. “Nothing’s gonna change my world…nothing’s gonna change my world” – words from the song Across the Universe seem to hang in the air and tease me.

In a little over a week I will be boarding a plane for my Peace Corps staging in Philadelphia, PA and very soon after I will be on my way to Madagascar along with about 30 other new Peace Corps volunteers. I am quite certain that we will all be bright eyed with the promise of making a difference in the world, overflowing with the excitement of adventure – and absolutely terrified. But I suppose that is all a part of the experience. I vaguely recall hearing one of those cheesy quotes I love so much that was something along the lines of “courage doesn’t mean facing something without fear, it means overcoming your fear to do what you believe in”. Now that I have typed it I feel like it most likely came from one of those horrible hero movies that I adore like Die Hard or 300 or something. Ah, well. The idea behind it appeals to me because I would be lying through my teeth if I said I wasn’t nervous or frightened a little. Okay, a lot. But I remind myself of why I applied to the Peace Corps to begin with and the amazing things that await me in the coming two years and I manage to “cowgirl up” as they say in these parts.

My major task for the remaining time in the States is mental preparation and packing. I would say I am in the contemplation phase of packing. I feel like I am waiting for inspiration of some sort. Most likely that inspiration will come in the form of “Oh my gosh I am leaving tomorrow morning and I haven’t packed anything!” When I look at the pile of stuff I have on my floor that needs to fit into one big duffel and a camping backpack I pray that my bags somehow take on the properties of Mary Poppins’ bag (if you haven’t seen this movie, stop what you are doing and watch it now). I have also been trying to spend as much time as I can with my family, especially my seven year old niece. She likes to remind me that “I am going to be ten years old when you get back from the Peace Corps.” I guess when you are a kid that seems like an eternity. She probably imagines me exiting the plane with a walker and gray hair.

Well, I have officially exhausted my Beatles playlist and Adele is now crooning. That is my signal to get off here. There is a lot of uncertainty as I approach my service but I think it is safe to say that my world is in fact going to change.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sara (sister)
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 16:35:19

    Of course I understand what you’re saying. Not just you embarking on this, what is sure to be an epic adventure, and changing your life with this massive dose of out in the world experience, but family changes. Kaylie will be two yrs older, I’ll be two yrs older so will the dogs the cats. But, I know those 2 yrs will fly by as time does, and you’ll be walking off that plane minus the walker and gray hair but with humbled state of mind, wisdom and maybe some dirt of the earth stuck in your bags and clothes (the leaves that seemed to never go away after last trip) and we will be all smiles at the sight of you back home. Your world is changing and will change, but the one constant in your life you can always depend on is that we love you, we’re proud of you, and dammit Watson, good show!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

